Gaming in General - What are you currently playing? Any games you're looking forward to?

Currently reading:
Gaming in General - What are you currently playing? Any games you're looking forward to?

Blue

comfy friend
Reaction score
comfy coins
šŸ’ 9,318
Talk about what you're currently playing and some gaming news you might be excited about.

I picked up Armored Core 6 during a sale and this is my first time dipping my toes into the mecha genre (well, excluding Titanfall) and I'm having fun.
The in game photo mode allows for some kino shots:
Untitled.jpg
Untitled.jpg

Before playing AC I never really understood these mecha games. It always looked so clunky and boring to me but now I finally understand.
Other than that I'm playing Sea of Thieves again with my gf and a friend and patiently waiting for the Elden Ring DLC.

AC is great. it's also decidedly not a simulation, so definitely broader appeal. i grew up on the simulation-type ones myself (mechwarrior) and i think a flightstick does a lot for the feel of those in a way it can't for something like AC, so it's worth knowing the distinction of subgenre in that case
beyond that the real core of it is the customizing of your mech which is something both the sim and action type mech games share on a pretty fundamental level. they're two approaches to the same basic fundamental which is pretty interesting
as for what i've been playing, recently finished with Atari 50 (a gaming history lesson with some games as a bonus. i'd recommend The Making of Karateka over it but Atari 50 is still decently solid, even if a standard controller can't imitate a trackball or a dial very well) and qomp (what if Pong but you controlled the ball directly and also it's a puzzle platformer?) and am getting back to X: Beyond the Frontier, which has had my life in a chokehold for the past month